Renamed Places of India.

Many a times the government of India has passed the law to change the name of a particular state or a city. The renaming of cities in India started in 1947 after independence. State holds the power to initiate the process for changing the name its own state . However, by virtue of article 3, the parliament reserves the power to change the name of a state even if such proposal does not come from the concerned state.

It is the central government which takes the final decision on renaming of any state or city. Yes, the Indian Home Ministry gives a final nod. Otherwise looking into depth we will find uncountable controversies on renaming of Indian places. In past 72 years several changes were proposed but all were not approved.

There are more than 100 cities and towns that have been renamed after Indian independence in 1947. Let me remind you a few names which have been altered or are on verge of change.

In 1971, Tamil Nadu’s Trichinapoly was renamed to Tiruchirapalli, Gujarat’s Baroda went back to identifying itself as Vadodara in 1974. The capital of Kerala which was earlier called as Trivandrum has been renamed to Thiruvananthapuram (Thiru-anantha-puram) from the year 1991.The financial capital of India got its new name in 1996, from Bombay it’s name was changed to Mumbai. But even today most of us love to call it Bombay as there is a common saying “Mumbai is a city, Bombay is a feeling.”

In 1996 the south metro city and the capital of Tamil Nadu got its new name Chennai instead of Madras and in same year name of Cochin was changed to Kochi. In 2001 the capital of West Bengal was renamed from Calcutta to Kolkata . In 2006, Pondicherry one of the seven union territories of India was renamed to Puducherry .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *